# Minutes of Nuclear and Radiation Physics Specialist Group Meeting 26 June 2003, 12:30, SAIP2003, Stellenbosch

#### **Opening and Welcome**

Dr. Zeblon Vilakazi opened the meeting. Dr. Thulani Jili (UZ) gave a summarised progress report on the Millennium School of Nuclear Physics to be held next year:

- 1. The first announcement is expected 2 weeks from now and further information will be available on the website (whose details should be sent out on PHYSUSERS soon).
- 2.It was requested that registration be made as soon as possible after the first announcement.
- 3.Sponsors of the event so far include PBMR, iThemba LABS, NRF, WITS, Alusaf.
- 4. Expected attendance of 120 delegates.
- 5. Duration will be slightly longer than usual (extra 2 days) to allow some astrophysics and astronomy sessions.

#### Attendance

According to the email list sent around, 31 people attended the meeting. This list is appended.

#### Minutes of previous meeting

It was decided that the setting up of the web-page be done similar to that of other groups shown on the SAIP website (www.saip.org.za  $\rightarrow$  The SAIP  $\rightarrow$  Specialist groups). However, before this could begin, information would need to be collected from everyone interested in submitting something. Survey questionnaires requesting information in template form should be sent to all members of the PHYSUSERS group. Jeetesh Keshaw will follow up this process.

#### Our Role in the Future of Physics in SA

Prof. Sharpey Schaeffer:

- 1. reported that the Minister of Education is finalising the matric Physics syllabus.
- 2. Stated that South African school children learn very little science.
- 3. There exists a very low graduate student numbers in physics at South African Universities, and a meeting was held last week to discuss the feasibility of a graduate school (MARST) programme in accelerator technology. We need to make sure that all universities discuss this amongst each other.
- 4.We should get courses together and apply to get them funded.

It was commented that we should synthesise documents about our role in Physics in SA.

## Name Change

Dr. Connell recommends the name of the specialist group be changed. There was a suggestion of "Sub-atomic Science and Technology".

## Closure

The Chairman, Dr. Vilakazi, closed the meeting.

Compiled by J. Keshaw

### Attendance List

Name	E - mail
Jeetesh Keshaw	keshaw@necsa.co.za
Ricky Smit	smit@tlabs.ac.za
John Sharpey Schaeffer	jfss@tlabs.ac.za
Siefried Fortsch	fortsch@tlabs.ac.za
Kobus Lawrie	lawrie@tlabs.ac.za
Elena Lawne	elena@tlabs.ac.za
Richard Newman	newman@tlabs.ac.za
Simon Connell	connell@inkosi.src.wits.ac.za
Roger Fearick	fearick@physci.uct.ac.za
Robbie Lindsay	rlindsay@uwc.ac.za
Deon Steyn	deon@tlabs.ac.za
Etienne Vermeulen	etienne@tlabs.ac.za
Chris Franklyn	franklyn@necsa.co.za
K Korir	korir@inkosi.src.wits.ac.za
Judith Ncapayi	ncapayi@tlabs.ac.za
Nawahl Razak	razak@science.uct.ac.za
Sean Murray	murray@tlabs.ac.za
Robert Bark	robert_bark@tlabs.ac.za
Gareth de Vaux	SAIP@lordcow.phy.uct.ac.za
Peter Steinberg	pas@bnl.gov
Katse Maphoto	maphoto@tlabs.ac.za
Given Mabala	mabal@tlabs.ac.za;gkmabal@webmail.co.za
Greg Hillhouse	gch@sun.ac.za
Frank Komati	fskomati@tlabs.ac.za
Pogisho Mawe	maine@tlabs.ac.za
Jacob Kau	kau@tlabs.ac.za
John Carter	carterj@physics.wits.ac.za